Two Waisman Investigators Named AAAS Fellows

Gary D. Sandefur and Mark S. Seidenberg, investigators at the Waisman Center, were recently named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world’s largest general scientific society, publisher of Science. AAAS seeks to advance science and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people.

A Fellow is defined as “a Member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.” Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, government, and other institutions; and communicating and interpreting science to the public.

  • Mark S. Seidenberg, professor of psychology, is recognized for his work to understand aspects of language structure, acquisition and use, particularly through the innovative use of computational models.
  • Gary D. Sandefur, professor of sociology, is recognized for his pioneering contributions to the study of poverty, race and ethnicity, and his work on the consequences of growing up in a single-parent household.

Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.